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STATE PLAN UNDER TITLE XIX OF THE SOCIAL SECURITY ACT
State. Rhode Island

Utilization Coatrol of Care.and Services

The Surveillance.and Utilization Control Program conducts the following activities in accordance with
federal requirements and regulations, inchuding, but not limited to, 42 CFR 456.22,456.23, and 456.3:

¢ Quarterly retrospective paid claim reviews of beneficiary and provider claims data

e Provider-or service specific andits of claims data when recommended by the Program Integrity:
Unit

s« Monthly generation and mailing of Recipient Explanations-of Member Bepefits (REOMB)
statements

+  Monitors national trends and conducts research to evaluate the impact, or potential impact, on the
Medicaid program

« Initiafes and thoroughty investigates tips and targeted queries; reviews a mimimum of 15 months
of claims for each standard recipient or provider case under investigation.

» Recoups and adjusts claims payments either by an individual evaluation or sampling
methodology that is conducted following an analysis of paid claims data

« Analyses and prepares reports detailing any of the above issues

» Recommends corrective actions and the recowpmient of adjustment of ¢laims as.applicable

TNNo.:19-012
Supersedes
TN No.: 80-7 Approval date: 6/10/2016 Effective July 1, 2019
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Medicaid Premiums and Cost Sharing

f e ]

State Name:iRhode Island o 7 l OMB Control Number: 0938-1148
Transmittal Number; RL - 19- 0005

Cost Sharing Requirements

1916
1916A
42 CFR 447.50 through 447.57 (excluding 447.55)

The state charges cost sharing (deductibles, co-insurance or co-payments) to individuals covered under Medicaid. No

PRA Disclosure Statement
According to the Paperwork Reduction Act of 1995, ne persons are required to respond to a coliection of information unless it displays a
valid OMB control number. The valid OMB conirol number for this information collection is 0938-1148. The time required to complete
this information collection is estimated fo average 40 hours per response, including the time to review instructions, search existing data
resources, gather the data needed, and complete and review the information collection. If you have comments concerning the accuracy of
the time estimate(s) or suggestions for improving this form, please write to: CMS, 7500 Security Boulevard, Attn: PRA Reports Clearance
Officer, Mail Stop C4-26-05, Baltimore, Maryland 21244-1850.

V.20160722

Page 1 of 1
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STATE PLAN UNDER TITLE XIX OF THE SOCIAL SECURITY ACT
State/Territory: Rhode Island

It should be noted that States can select one or more options in imposing cost sharing (including
co-payments, co-insurance, and deductibles) and premiums.

A. For groups of individuals with family income above 100 percent but below 150 percent
of the FPL.:

1. Cost sharing

a. x/No cost sharing is imposed.
b. _ /Cost sharing is imposed under section 1916A of the Act as follows
(specify the amounts by group and services (see below)):

Type of Charge

Group of Item/Service Deductible Co-insurance Co-payment *Method of

Individuals Determining
Family
Income
(including
monthly or
quarterly
period)

*Describe the methodology used to determine family income if it differs from your methodology
for determining eligibility.

Attach a schedule of the cost sharing amounts for specific items and services and the various
eligibility groups.

b. Limitations:
The total aggregate amount of cost sharing and premiums imposed under section 1916A
for all individuals in the family may not exceed 5 percent of the family income of the

TN No. 23-0011 Approval Date March 1, 2024
Supersedes TN No. NEW Effective Date October 1, 2023
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STATE PLAN UNDER TITLE XIX OF THE SOCIAL SECURITY ACT
State/Territory: Rhode Island

family involved, as applied on a monthly and quarterly basis as specified by the State
above.

Cost sharing with respect to any item or service may not exceed 10 percent of the cost
of such item or service.

c. No cost sharing will be imposed for the following services:

Services furnished to individuals under 18 years of age that are required to be
provided Medicaid under section 1902(a)(10)(A)(i), and including services furnished
to individuals with respect to whom aid and assistance is made available under part B
of title IV to children in foster care and individuals with respect to whom adoption or
foster care assistance is made available under part E of such title, without regard to
age;

Preventive services (such as well baby and well child care and immunizations)
provided to children under 18 years of age, regardless of family income;

Services furnished to pregnant people, if such services relate to the pregnancy or to
any other medical condition which may complicate the pregnancy;

Services furnished to a terminally ill individual who is receiving hospice care, (as
defined in section 1905(0) of the Act);

Services furnished to any individual who is an inpatient in a hospital, nursing facility,
intermediate care facility for the mentally retarded, or other medical institution, if
such individual is required, as a condition of receiving services in such institution
under the State plan, to spend for costs of medical care all but a minimal amount of
the individual’s income required for personal needs;

Emergency services as defined by the Secretary for the purposes of section
1916(a)(2)(D) of the Act;

Family planning services and supplies described in section 1905(a)(4)(C) of the Act;
and

Services furnished to women who are receiving Medicaid by virtue of the application
of sections 1902(a)(10)(A)(ii))(XVIII) and 1902(aa) of the Act.

ci. Enforcement

1.

__| Providers are permitted to require, as a condition for the provision of care,

items, or services, the payment of any cost sharing.

TN No. 23-0011 Approval Date March 1, 2024
Supersedes TN No. NEW Effective Date October 1, 2023
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STATE PLAN UNDER TITLE XIX OF THE SOCIAL SECURITY ACT
State/Territory: Rhode Island

2. __| (If above box selected) Providers permitted to reduce or waive cost sharing
on a case-by-case basis.

3. State payments to providers must be reduced by the amount of the beneficiary
cost sharing obligations, regardless of whether the provider successfully collects the cost
sharing.

4, States have the ability to increase total State plan rates to providers to maintain
the same level of State payments when cost sharing is introduced.

2. Premiums

No premiums may be imposed for individuals with family income above 100 percent but
below 150 percent of the FPL.

B. For groups of individuals with family income above 150 percent of the FPL.:
1. Cost sharing amounts

a. x/ No cost sharing is imposed.
b. _ / Costsharing is imposed under section 1916A of the Act as follows (specify
amounts by groups and services (see below)):

Type of Charge

Group of Item/Service Deductible Coinsurance Co-payment  *Method of

Individuals Determining
Family
Income
(including
monthly or
quarterly
period)

*Describe the methodology used to determine family income if it differs from your methodology
for determining eligibility.

TN No. 23-0011 Approval Date March 1, 2024
Supersedes TN No. NEW Effective Date October 1, 2023




Attachment 4.18-F
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STATE PLAN UNDER TITLE XIX OF THE SOCIAL SECURITY ACT

State/Territory: Rhode Island

Attach a copy of the schedule of the cost sharing amounts for specific items and the various
eligibility groups.

b. Limitations:

The total aggregate amount of all cost sharing and premiums imposed under section
1916A for all individuals in the family may not exceed 5 percent of the family income
of the family involved, as applied on a monthly or quarterly basis as specified by the
State above.

Cost sharing with respect to any item or service may not exceed 20 percent of the cost
of such item or service.

c. No cost sharing shall be imposed for the following services:

Services furnished to individuals under 18 years of age that are required to be
provided Medicaid under section 1902(a)(10)(A)(i) of the Act, and including services
furnished to individuals with respect to whom aid and assistance is made available
under part B of title IV to children in foster care, and individuals with respect to
whom adoption or foster care assistance is made available under part E of such title,
without regard to age;

Preventive services (such as well baby and well child care and immunizations)
provided to children under 18 years of age regardless of family income;

Services furnished to pregnant people, if such services relate to the pregnancy or to
any other medical condition which may complicate the pregnancy;

Services furnished to a terminally ill individual who is receiving hospice care (as
defined in section 1905(0) of the Act);

Services furnished to any individual who is an inpatient in a hospital, nursing facility,
intermediate care facility for the mentally retarded, or other medical institution, if
such individual is required, as a condition of receiving services in such institution
under the State plan, to spend for costs of medical care all but a minimal amount of
the individual’s income required for personal needs;

Emergency services as defined by the Secretary for the purposes of section
1916(a)(2)(D) of the Act;

Family planning services and supplies described in section 1905(a)(4)(C) of the Act;
and

Services furnished to women who are receiving Medicaid by virtue of the application
of sections 1902(a)(10)(A)(ii)(XVIII) and 1902(aa) of the Act.

TN No. 23-0011 Approval Date March 1, 2024
Supersedes TN No. NEW Effective Date October 1, 2023
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STATE PLAN UNDER TITLE XIX OF THE SOCIAL SECURITY ACT
State/Territory: Rhode Island

d. Enforcement

1. __/ Providers are permitted to require, as a condition for the provision of care,
items, or services, the payment of any cost sharing.

il. __/ (If above box selected) Providers are permitted to reduce or waive cost
sharing on a case-by-case basis.

1il. __/ State payments to providers must be reduced by the amount of the beneficiary
cost-sharing obligations, regardless of whether the provider successfully collects
the cost-sharing.

2. Premiums
a. Amount of Premiums
1. _/ No premiums are imposed.
ii. X/ Premiums are imposed under section 1916A of the Act as follows (specify

the premium amount by group and income level.

Group of Premium Method for Determining Family Income
Individuals (including monthly or quarterly period)
Working Disabled Premiums are based on family income, | The State calculates monthly income using
Adults enrolled via the |beginning at 150% FPL on a sliding fee | the standard SSI methodology.
Ticket to Work scale, no more than 5% of family
pathway income, as described on page 5a.

b. Limitation:
e The total aggregate amount of premiums and cost sharing imposed for all individuals
in the family may not exceed 5 percent of the family income of the family involved,
as applied on a monthly or quarterly basis as specified by the State above.

TN No. 23-0011 Approval Date March 1, 2024
Supersedes TN No. NEW Effective Date October 1, 2023

CMS-101090 (09/06)




TN No. 23-0011

FPL Premium Amount for Ticket to
Work
<150% FPL SO
150 - <185% FPL S61
185 - <200% FPL S77
200 - <250% FPL $92
250 - <300% FPL $110
300 - <350% FPL $130
350 - <400% FPL $150
400 - <450% FPL $170
450 - <500% FPL $190
500 - <550% FPL $210
550 - <600% FPL $230
600 - <650% FPL $250
650 - <700% FPL $270
700 - <750% FPL $290
750 - <800% FPL $310
800 - <850% FPL $330
850 - <900% FPL $350
900%+ FPL $370

Supersedes TN No. NEW

Attachment 4.18-F
Page 5a

Approval Date March 1, 2024
Effective Date October 1, 2023
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STATE PLAN UNDER TITLE XIX OF THE SOCIAL SECURITY ACT
State/Territory: Rhode Island

c. No premiums shall be imposed for the following individuals:

e Individuals under 18 years of age that are required to be provided medical assistance
under section 1902(a)(10)(A)(i), and including individuals with respect to whom aid
or assistance is made available under part B of title IV to children in foster care and
individuals with respect to whom adoption or foster care assistance is made available
under part E of such title, without regard to age;

e Pregnant people;

e Any terminally ill individual receiving hospice care, as defined in section 1905(0);

e Any individual who is an inpatient in a hospital, nursing facility, intermediate care
facility, or other medical institution, if such individual is required, as a condition of
receiving services in such institution under the State plan, to spend for costs of
medical care all but a minimal amount of the individual’s income required for
personal needs; and

e Individuals who are receiving Medicaid by virtue of the application of sections
1902(a)(10)(A)(ii))(XVI) and 1902(aa) of the Act.

ci. Enforcement

1. __| Prepayment required for the following groups of individuals who are
applying for Medicaid:

2. X/ Eligibility terminated after failure to pay for 90 days for the following groups
of individuals who are receiving Medicaid:

Working Disabled Adults enrolled via the Ticket to Work pathway

3. X/ Payment will be waived on a case-by-case basis for undue hardship.
C. Period of determining aggregate 5 percent cap

Specify the period for which the 5 percent maximum would be applied.

__/ Quarterly

X/ Monthly

TN No. 23-0011 Approval Date March 1, 2024
Supersedes TN No. NEW Effective Date October 1, 2023
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STATE PLAN UNDER TITLE XIX OF THE SOCIAL SECURITY ACT
State/Territory: Rhode Island
D. Method for tracking cost sharing amounts

Describe the State process used for tracking cost sharing and informing beneficiaries and
providers of their beneficiary’s liability and informing providers when an individual has
reached his/her maximum so further costs are no longer charged.

Also describe the State process for informing beneficiaries and providers of the allowable
cost sharing amounts.

Premiums will not exceed the 5% maximum and the State is not charging cost-sharing. As the State will only apply
premiums to individuals with an income equal to or greater than 150% of the FPL, and premiums are set at an
amount that is less than the maximum amount of 5% of income, there will not be cases in which an individual is
charged more than the maximum amount.

Once an individual is determined eligible for the Ticket to Work pathway, a letter will be sent to the qualifying
individual with their monthly premium amount.

TN No. 23-0011 Approva_l Date March 1, 2024
Supersedes TN No. NEW Effective Date October 1, 2023
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STATE PLAN UNDER TITLE XIX OF THE SOCIAL SECURITY ACT

STATE: Rhode Island

Payment for inpatient hospital care provided by Rhode Island and out-of-state hospitals under fee-for-
service arrangements is as follows:

DRG Base Payment. In general, payment will be by diagnosis related group,
using the All Patient Refined Diagnosis Related Group (APR-DRG) algorithm.
The DRG Base Payment will equal the DRG Relative Weight specific to APR-
DRG times the DRG Base Price times an age adjustor (if applicable as defined in
section ¢ below). For inpatient admissions on and after December 1, 2015, the
DRG base rate paid to each hospital for inpatient services, as calculated pursuant
to this payment methodology, will be reduced by 2.5%.

Effective July 1, 2016 the DRG base price will be increased by 3%, resulting in a
base price of $11,093.

Effective July 1, 2017, and for each state fiscal year thereafter, the DRG base
price will be increased by the CMS Hospital Prospective Reimbursement Market
Basket for the applicable period, as reported in the quarterly Healthcare Cost
Review published by the IHS Markit.

For the period of July 1, 2019 through June 30, 2020 the DRG base rate will be
increased by 7.2%. Effective July 1, 2020 the DRG base rate will be increased by
the CMS national Prospective Payment System (IPPS) Hospital Input Price
Index. Effective July 1, 2022, the DRG base rate will be increased by 5.0%.
Effective 7/1/2023, the DRG base rate will be increased by the change in the
“actual regulation market basket” as reflected in the CMS Inpatient Hospital
Prospective Payment System Market Basket Update without productivity
adjustment for the current federal fiscal year.

APR-DRG algorithm. Effective July 1, 2016, the Executive Office of Health and
Human Services (EOHHS) is using the most current version of the APR-DRG
algorithm. It is EOHHS’s intention to update the version each year so that it uses
the current version available as of the effective date of the rates.

DRG Relative Weights. Effective July 1, 2016, EOHHS is using the most current
version of the national APR-Relative Weights as published by 3M Health
Information Systems. For certain services where Medicaid represents an
important share of the Rhode Island market, policy adjustors will be used to
increase the Relative Weights in order to encourage access to care. These
services (defined by APR-DRG) and policy adjustors are: neonatal intensive
care, 1.25; normal newborns, 1.15; obstetrics, 1.15; mental health, 1.45; and
rehabilitation, 1.45. Policy adjustors are intended to be budget-neutral; because
payment for services with policy adjustors is higher than it otherwise would have
been, payment for other services is lower than it otherwise would have been.
Budget neutrality is achieved through the level of the DRG Base Price.

Age adjustor. To facilitate access to mental health care for children, calculation
of the DRG Base Payment will include an “age adjustor” to increase payment for
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these stays. Effective May 5, 2015, the value of the pediatric mental health age
adjustor will be 2.50. This value was calculated so that, overall, payment for
pediatric mental health stays would exceed the hospitals’ estimated costs of
providing this care.

DRG Payment. The DRG Payment equals the DRG Base Payment plus the DRG
Cost Outlier Payment plus the DRG Day Outlier Payment.

Outlier payments. “Outlier” payments will be payable for medically necessary
inpatient hospital services involving exceptionally high costs or exceptionally
long lengths of stay. All mental health stays will be eligible for day outlier
payments and all physical health (i.e., non-mental health) stays will be eligible
for cost outlier payments. This paragraph is intended to meet the requirements of
the Social Security Act §1902(s) (1) and to extend outlier protections to all other
stays.

Day Outlier Payment. Day outlier payments will be made at a per diem rate for
all days in a mental health stay after a day outlier threshold. Effective May 5,
2015, the Day Outlier Payment Rate is $850 for every day that exceeds the day
outlier threshold of 20 days. Day Outlier Payments are made only for days for
which the hospital has received prior authorization.

Cost Outlier Payment. Cost outlier payments will be made to stays that qualify
as a cost outlier stay, which will be determined by comparing the hospital’s
estimated loss on a particular stay with the cost outlier threshold amount. If a
stay qualifies as a cost outlier then the cost outlier payment will equal the
statewide marginal cost percentage times the estimated loss. The estimated loss
will be calculated as the hospital’s covered charges for a particular stay times the
most recent applicable hospital-specific ratio of cost to charges as calculated by
EOHHS from Medicare cost reports. (For hospitals outside Rhode Island, proxy
ratios of cost to charges will be used.) Effective May 5, 2015, the cost outlier
threshold amount is $27,000 and the statewide marginal cost percentage is 60%.

Transfer adjustments. When a patient is discharged to another acute care hospital
or leaves the hospital against medical advice, a transfer adjustment payment will
be calculated. This adjustment applies to discharge statuses 02, 05 and 07. The
transfer adjustment will involve calculation of a per diem amount equal to the
DRG Base Payment divided by the nationwide average length of stay for the
particular APR-DRG. The per diem amount will be multiplied by the actual
length of stay plus one day, to reflect the additional costs associated with hospital
admission. If the transfer adjustment payment is lower than the payment
otherwise calculated, then the hospital will be paid the transfer adjustment
payment.

Incomplete eligibility. When a patient has Medicaid eligibility for only part of an
inpatient stay, payment will be prorated to reflect the incomplete eligibility. A
per diem amount will be calculated as described in paragraph k above and will be
multiplied by the actual length of stay. If the prorated payment is lower than the
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payment otherwise calculated, then the hospital will be paid the prorated
payment.

Allowed amount. The allowed amount will equal the DRG Payment, with
adjustments for transfers or incomplete eligibility as appropriate, plus the Add-on
Amount.

Add-on Amount. The Add-on Amount is a mechanism to make payments for
services that are unrelated to the DRG calculation. Effective May 5, 2015, the
Add-on Amount is zero.

Interim payments. If the length of stay exceeds 29 days then the hospital can
choose to submit an interim claim and receive an interim payment. Effective
May 5, 2015, the interim payment amount is $850 per day. This provision is
intended to provide cash flow and ensure access for patients needing
exceptionally long lengths of acute care. Once a patient has been discharged,
interim payments will be recouped and final payment calculated as described
above.

Prior authorization. In general, all admissions require prior authorization. The
only exceptions are deliveries and normal newborns (i.e., newborns not admitted
to neonatal intensive care). In general, prior authorization of the length of stay is
not required. The only exception is when payment for a mental health stay is by
DRG and the length of stay exceeds the day outlier threshold. Authorization for
days over the threshold is required if the stay is to be eligible for Day Outlier
Payment.

Children with dual diagnoses of mental health and intellectual disability requiring
acute care for periods of weeks or months. Subject to prior authorization, these
stays will be outside the scope of the DRG payment method and will be paid on a
per diem basis. The per diem rate will be based on the cost of care as estimated
from Medicare cost reports.

Medicare crossover claims. These stays, where Medicaid acts as a secondary
payer behind Medicare, are outside the scope of the DRG payment method.
Medicaid payment is calculated as the Medicare coinsurance and deductible
times the hospital-specific ratio of cost to charges as calculated by EOHHS from
the Medicare cost report.

Annual review. EOHHS will review the DRG payment method at least annually,
making updates as appropriate through the rule-making process. The scope of
the annual review will include at least the DRG algorithm version, the DRG
Relative Weights, the DRG Base Price(s), the outlier thresholds, outlier payment
parameters, policy adjustors and the age adjustors. With respect to the DRG
Base Price, EOHHS will take into consideration at least the following factors in
deciding what change, if any, to implement: changes or levels of beneficiary
access to quality care; the Center for Medicare and Medicaid Services (CMS)
Inpatient Hospital Prospective Payment System Market Basket Update without
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productivity adjustment for the current federal fiscal year; technical corrections
to offset changes in DRG Relative Weights or policy adjustors; changes in how
hospitals provide diagnosis and procedure codes on claims; and budget
allocations.

Posted information. Hospitals, beneficiaries and other interested parties can find
current versions of a DRG Calculator (including the DRG Base Payment rate for
each APR-DRG) on the Executive Office of Health and Human Services website,
updated as of July 1, 2019:

http://www.eohhs.ri.gov/ProvidersPartners/General Information/ProviderDirectori
es/Hospitals.aspx

Payment for inpatient hospital care provided by government-owned and -operated hospitals will be paid
on a cost basis as follows:

a.

Cost-Based Payment

From January 1 through December 30, providers will be reimbursed using interim rates that are
calculated using data that is from the cost report of the prior state fiscal year (July | — June 30).
Cost reports for the prior state fiscal year (July | — June 30) are due to the state November 30.
Rates from those cost reports are also used for the final settlements of the prior state fiscal year
(July I — June 30). The Medicaid rate is equal to the per diem found on the Cost Report at
Worksheet D-1 Line 38 plus an amount equal to adding the costs on Worksheet A-8-2, Column 4,
Line 200 and dividing by inpatient days found on Worksheet D-1, Column I, Line 2.

These final rates will be used in a reconciliation for the previous state fiscal year (July 1 — June
30) and become the interim rates for the following calendar year (January 1 — December 30).

For each state fiscal year (July 1 — June 30), the final per diem rates (that are calculated using the
cost reports that are due the following November 30) will be multiplied by the number of paid
Medicaid inpatient days for dates of service in the relevant state fiscal year, to generate the total
amount owed by Medicaid for that state fiscal year.

The total amount owed by Medicaid will be compared to the total sum of interim payments made
in aggregate to the hospital in the corresponding state fiscal year. If the total amount owed by
Medicaid is greater than the sum of the interim payments, EOHHS will reimburse the provider
via a reconciliation payment in an amount that is equal to that difference. If the revenue owed by
Medicaid to the hospital is less than the sum of the interim payments, the provider shall return to
EOHHS (via a reconciliation payment) the amount that is equal to that difference. This
reconciliation of interim to final rates will occur within one year post the end of the applicable
state fiscal year (i.e. reconciliation for SFY2019 rates will be reconciled by June 30, 2020).

Any such payment or recoupment resulting from the reconciliation will be added to Medicaid
payments in the UPL demonstration that utilizes that year’s base year data.

Prior Authorizations and Description of Service Provided

All admissions require prior authorization, however prior authorization of the length of stay is not
required. The services provided in the setting are acknowledged to be inclusive of a variety of
State Plan approved benefits, and levels of intensity of services. Services that are provided are
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based on the beneficiaries’ plan of care/ treatment plan and differ in intensity based on the
beneficiaries’ acuity. Services that are provided encompass a complete continuum of care.

c. Annual review
EOHHS will review the cost-based payment method at least annually, making updates as
appropriate through the state plan amendment process.

d. Posted information
Hospitals, beneficiaries and other interested parties can find current interim rates on the Executive
Office of Health and Human Services website, which will be updated annually in January:
http://www.eohhs.ri.gov/ProvidersPartners/Generallnformation/ProviderDirectories/Hospitals.asp
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Citation

42 CFR 447, 434, 438, and 1902(a)(4), 1902(a)(6), and 1903

Payment Adjustment for Provider Preventable Conditions

The Medicaid agency meets the requirements of 42 CFR Part 447, Subpart A, and

sections 1902(a)(4),1902(a)(6), and 1903 with respect to non-payment for provider-
preventable conditions,

Health Care-Acquired Conditions

The State identifies the following Health Care-Acquired Conditions for non-payment
under Section 4.19 (A) of this State plan.

__ X Hospital-Acquired Conditions as identified by Medicare other than Deep Vein
Thrombosis (DVT)/PuImonary Embolism (PE) following total knee replacement or h1p
replacement surgery in pediatric and obstetric patients. :

Other Provider-Preventable Conditions

The State identifies the following Other Provider-Preventable Conditions for non-
payment under Section 4,19 (A) of this State plan.

X Wrong surgical or other invasive procedure performed on a patient; surgical or
other invasive procedure performed on the wrong body part; surgical or other invasive
procedure performed on the wrong patient.

Non-Payment for Hospital Acquired Conditions:

In accordance with Title XIX of the Social Security Act — Sections 1902, 1903 and 42
CFRs 434, 438, and 447, Medicaid will make no payment to providers for services
related to Provider Preventable Conditions (PPC) which includes Health Care-Acquired
Condition (HCAC),

TN No. 12-005
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For all Medicaid patients, requests for Diagnosis Related Groups (DRGs) attributable
to Present on Admission (POA) conditions will be reimbursed for allowable charges.

Provider Preventable conditions (PPC), which includes Health Care-Acquired Condition
(HCAC), with diagnosis codes with Y or W, or as defined by CMS, will be considered in
the DRG calculation. Conversely, any diagnoses codes with N or U, or as defined by
CMS, will not be considered in the DRG calculation. Providers must identify and report
PPC occurrences.

For hospitals reimbursed under a per diem methodology, to the extent that the
cost of the hospital acquired condition can be isolated, payment for the cost of
the hospital acquired condition will be denied.

Non-Payment for Other Provider Preventable Conditions

. E876.5 — Performance of wrong operation (procedure) on correct patient

. E876.6 — Performance of operation (procedure) on patient not scheduled for
surgery

. E876.7 — Performance of correct operation (procedure) on wrong side/body part

The provider may file a separate claim for the same Medicaid recipient with the same
dates of service to include the allowable charges for reimbursement. Providers must
identify and report other provider preventable conditions.

No reduction in payment for a provider preventable condition will be imposed on a
provider when the condition defined as a PPC for a particular patient existed prior to the
initiation of treatment for that patient by that provider.

Reductions in provider payment may be limited to the extent that the foliowing apply: (i)
The identified provider preventable conditions would otherwise result in an increase in
payment; (ii) The state can reasonably isolate for nonpayment the portion of the payment
directly related to treatment for, and related to, the provider preventable condition.

Prohibition on payments for PPC, and HCAC, shall not result in a loss of access to care
or services for Medicaid beneficiaties. This policy applies to all Medicaid reimbursement
provisions, contained in 4.19A, including Medicaid proportionate share hospital
payments. In the event that individual cases are identified throughout the PPC
implementation period, July 1, 2012 through January 14, 2013, the State will adjust
reimbursements according to the methodology above,
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Disproportionate Share Hospital Policy

Disproportionate Share Hospitals

A.
TN # 24-0001
Supersedes
TN # 17-007

I. Criteria

For purposes of complying with Section-1923 of the Social Security Act, the Executive Office of
Health and Human Services, the designated Single State Agency for the Title XIX Medical
Assistance Program, will determine which hospitals can be deemed eligible for a disproportionate
share payment adjustment.

1. Rhode Island defines disproportionate share hospitals as those licensed hospitals within the
Slate providing inpatient and outpatient services meeting the following criteria:

A.

A Medical Assistance inpatient utilization rate at least one (1) standard deviation above
the mean medical assistance -Inpatient utilization-rate for hospitals receiving medical-
assistance payments .in the State; or

A low-income inpatient utilization rate exceeding twenty five (25) percent; or
Medical Assistance inpatient utilization rate of not less than one (1) percent, and

The hospital has at least two (2) obstetricians with staff privileges at the hospital who
have agreed to provide obstetric services to individuals entitled to such services under the
Rhode Island Medical Assistance Program. This requirement does not apply to a hospital
where: a) the inpatients are predominantly individuals under eighteen (18) years of age;
or b) did not offer non-emergency obstetric services as of 12/22/87.

II. Definitions

1. Medical Assistance inpatient utilization rate means, for a hospital, a fraction (expressed as a

percentage), the numerator of which is the hospital's number of inpatient days attributable to
patients who (for such days) were eligible for Rhode Island Medical Assistance Program in a
period (regardless of whether the services were furnished on a fee-for-service basis or
through a managed-care entity), and the denominator of which is the total number of the
hospital's inpatient days in that period.

2. Low Income utilization rate means, for a hospital, the sum of

A fraction (expressed as a percentage), the numerator of which is the sum (for the
hospital's fiscal year designated in Section 1 I I,1,F) of the total medical assistance
revenues paid to the hospital for patient services (regardless of whether the services were
furnished on a fee-for-service basis or through a managed-care entity), and the amount of
the cash subsidies for patient services received directly from State-and local
governments, the denominator of which is the total -amount of revenues of the hospital
for patient services (including the amount of such cash subsidies) in that period; and

A fraction (expressed as a percentage), the numerator of which is the total
amount of the hospital's charge for inpatient hospital services which are
attributable to charity care in-the hospital's fiscal year designated in Section

Approved: March 13, 2024 Effective: January 1, 2024
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111,1,F Jess the portion of any cash subsidies described in subparagraph (A)
in that period reasonably attributable to-inpatient hospital services, and the
denominator of which is the total- amount of revenues of the hospital's
charges for inpatient hospital services in the hospital in that period. The
numerator under subparagraph (6) shall not include contractual
allowances and discounts (other than for indigent patients not eligible for
medical-assistance).

B. A fraction (expressed as a percentage), the numerator of which is the total amount of the
hospital's charge for inpatient hospital services which are attributable to charity care in-
the hospital's fiscal year designated in Section 111,1,F Jess the portion of any cash
subsidies described in subparagraph (A) in that period reasonably attributable to-inpatient
hospital services, and the denominator of which is the total- amount of revenues of the
hospital's charges for inpatient hospital services in the hospital in that period. The
numerator under subparagraph (6) shall not include contractual allowances and discounts
(other than for indigent patients not eligible for medical-assistance).

III. Payment Adjustment

1. For Federal fiscal year 2024 end and for federal fiscal years thereafter, the State shall make
payment to each-qualifying facility in accordance with the following formula:

A. Pool D: For non-government and non-psychiatric hospitals licensed within the State of
Rhode Island, whose Medical Assistance inpatient utilization rate exceed 1.0%, there
shall be a payment not to exceed the total computable DSH allotment as reported on
Form CMS-64.9D Column G, Line I to compensate hospitals for- uncompensated care
(as defined below) distributed among the qualifying hospitals in direct proportion to the
individual qualifying hospital's uncompensated care to the total uncompensated care costs
for all qualifying hospitals. For federal fiscal year 2024 and for fiscal years thereafter, the
State of Rhode Island shall incorporate the estimated hospital state directed payment for
payments as a percentage of commercial equivalent rates for the current SFY in which
the DSH payment is made into the calculation of the hospital specific limit used to
estimate the current SFY DSH payment. For example, the SFY 24 DSH payment will be
based on estimated 2022 hospital reported uncompensated care costs adjusted to reflect
the impact of the estimated SFY 24 state directed payment for payments as a percentage
of commercial equivalent rates to be received by the hospital. Doing so will help to
reduce the frequency of large recoupments and redistributions from hospitals, which can
disrupt cash flow and normal operations, and will be identified in the independent audit
three years after the SFY 24 DSH payment is made. To the extent that audit findings
demonstrate that DSH payments exceeded the documented hospital-specific limit, the
excess DSH payments are distributed by the State to other qualifying hospitals in direct
proportion to the individual qualifying hospital's uncompensated care to the total
uncompensated care costs for all qualifying hospitals as an integral part of the audit
process.
B. Uncompensated care is defined as stated in Section 1923 of the Social Security Act and

issued by CMS in the Medicaid DSH reporting and auditing final regulation on
December 19, 2008 (Federal Register/Vol. 73, No. 245).
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The utilization rates, costs, and uncompensated care for the most recently
completed hospital fiscal year for which data is available (hospital fiscal year
2014 will be utilized to-determine each hospital’s payment). 2014 uncompensated
care costs shall be indexed by the uncompensated -care index as defined in Rhode
Island General Law 40-8.3-2(5) for each subsequent year to calculate the costs for
the year in which payments are made. The total payment to a qualifying facility
will not exceed the facility specific caps described in Section 1923(g).
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The state has in place a public process, which complies with: the requirements of Section
1902(a)(13)(A) of the Social Security Act.
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GRADUATE MEDICAL EDUCATION SUPPLEMENTAL PAYMENTS

Effective July 1, 2021, Graduate Medical Education Supplemental Payments are eliminated.
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INPATIENT HOSPITAL SUPPLEMENTARY PAYMENT

For inpatient services provided on and after July 1, 2022, each acute care hospital may be paid
up to an amount determined as follows:

1. Determine the sum of gross Medicaid payments (including TPL, but excluding the cross-
over claims for which Medicare is the primary payer) from Rhode Island MMIS and all
other Medicaid FFS inpatient payments to hospitals made for inpatient services provided
during each hospital’s preceding fiscal year, including settlements

2. The Inpatient UPL calculation is an estimate of Medicare inpatient cost for private hospitals.
Specifically, a ratio of Medicare inpatient costs to Medicare inpatient charges is applied to
Medicaid inpatient charges to determine total Medicaid UPL amount. This is then inflated to
adjust from the cost report year to the UPL year, and the Medicaid Provider Tax cost is added to
determine the Adjusted Medicare UPL amount. Total Medicaid inpatient payments Inflated to
Demonstration Year are then subtracted from the Adjusted Medicare UPL amount to determine
the UPL gap, which is the basis for the size of the inpatient supplemental payment. The UPL
gap is calculated using an aggregate of the individual hospital gaps for private hospitals. The
inpatient UPL calculation is a reasonable estimate of the amount Medicare would pay for
equivalent Medicaid services.

Except for Bradley Hospital, Medicare routine and ancillary cost information is from each
provider’s as-filed Medicare cost report (CMS 2552), Worksheet D-1, Part 2, Line 49 (PPS
services and sub-providers).

Medicare routine and ancillary charge information is from each provider’s as-filed Medicare
cost report (CMS 2552), Worksheet D-3, Column 2, Lines 30-41 and 202 (PPS services and
sub-providers)

For Bradley Hospital, Medicare routine and ancillary charge information is from the
provider’s as filed Medicare cost report (2552-10), Worksheet G-2, Part I, Column I, Line
28. To determine the Bradley Hospital’s inpatient cost information:

A. Identify total inpatient charges (detailed above)

B. Identify outpatient charges (from filed Medicare cost report (2552-10), Worksheet
G-2, Part I, Column 2, Line 28)

C. Calculate total inpatient and outpatient charges (A + B)

D. Calculate the percentage of inpatient charges to total charges (A / C)

E. Identify total inpatient and outpatient costs from filed Medicare cost report (2552-
10), Worksheet G-2, Part II, Column 2, Line 43)

TN# 22-0009 Approved: December 6, 2022 Effective: July 1, 2022
Supersedes
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F. Calculate total amount of inpatient costs (D * E)

The State shall use a Medicare cost report for the hospital’s fiscal year beginning in the
federal fiscal year two years prior to the state demonstration year. For example, a SFY 23
demonstration submitted in June 2023 (end of SFY23, within FFY 23) would use a
Medicare cost report for the hospital fiscal year beginning in FFY 21 (10/1/2020 and
1/1/2021 reporting start dates, both in FFY 21)

RI’s UPL calculations rely on Medicare and Medicaid data from prior periods. Rhode Island
trends data for a Medicaid Inflation Factor and a UPL inflation Factor. The Medicaid Inflation
Factor shall be the change in the “actual regulation market basket” as reflected in the CMS
Inpatient Hospital Prospective Payment System Market Basket Update without productivity
adjustment for federal fiscal year 2021 (SFY 22) multiplied by a 5.0% hospital rate increase
enacted by the Rhode Island General Assembly for SFY 23. Effective July 1, 2023, the Medicaid
Inflation factor will be 5% multiplied by the “actual regulation market basket” as reflected in the
CMS Inpatient Hospital Prospective Payment System Market Basket Update without
productivity adjustment for federal fiscal year 2023.

The UPL Inflation Factor is the product of the change in the “actual regulation market basket” as
reflected in the CMS Inpatient Hospital Prospective Payment System Market Basket Update
without productivity adjustment for federal fiscal years corresponding to each hospital’s
Medicare Cost Report (Report) end date. For example, a SFY 23 demonstration due 6/30/2023
uses hospital data from Report end dates of 9/30/2021 (FFY 2021) and 12/31/2021 (FFY 2022).
Therefore, the inflationary adjustments are the FFY 21 and FFY 22 CMS Inpatient Hospital PPS
Market Basket Updates without productivity adjustment. The amounts of these two inflationary
adjustments are multiplied together to determine the total UPL inflation factor to use in RI’s
UPL demonstration.
An amount not to exceed the aggregate UPL gap is distributed quarterly (by the 20 of July,
October, January and April) among all eligible hospitals based on the percentage
relationship of each hospital’s Medicaid payments to total Medicaid payments for all the
private hospitals. No hospital will be paid more for inpatient hospital services under
Medicaid than the provider’s customary charges to the general public for the services.
Eligible hospitals are actual facilities and buildings in existence in Rhode Island that are
licensed by the Rhode Island Department of Health to provide short-term acute inpatient
care to persons who require definitive diagnosis and treatment for injury, illness, disabilities,
or pregnancy

TN# 22-0009 Approved: December 6, 2022 Effective: July 1, 2022
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Psychiatric Residential Treatment Facilities

Except as otherwise noted in the State Plan, state-developed rates are the same for both governmental and
private providers of Psychiatric Residential Treatment Facilities (PRTF).

Payment for Psychiatric Residential Treatment Facilities (PRTF) provided by state certified Providers
will be paid on a cost basis as follows:

1. Overview of Cost-Based Payment

Upon meeting the requirements of the Psychiatric Residential Treatment Facilities (PRTF) Rhode Island
Certification Standards, and in subsequent years of operation by every January 15, the Provider shall
prepare and submit to the state the cost report described herein that includes the anticipated costs for the
forthcoming twelve (12) month period commencing the following June 30 (or the state’s fiscal year).
Upon approval by the Department of Children, Youth & Families (DCYF), the cost-based per diem rate
will become initially effective upon the date DCYF certifies a facility as meeting certification standards
and then, subsequently, on July 1 following resubmission of an updated cost report. The per diem
payment rate for a facility will be determined using cost reports, desk audits, and field office audits
(when needed).

2. Cost Reports to be Submitted by Provider
a. By January 15 annually: Provider submits to DCYF a cost report that documents the
PRTF’s anticipated prospective operating budget, including labor expenses, facility and
other direct costs, and general and administrative costs; the cost report shall be submitted
during initial certification of provider and annually thereafter.

b. Annually within sixty (60) days of the end of the state fiscal year : Provider submits to
DCYF a cost report that documents the same cost elements as the January cost report, and
reports allowable expenses incurred and service utilization during the prior fiscal year;
this report shall be submitted within sixty (60) days of the end of the state fiscal year.

c. All cost reports will reflect Medicaid-attributable costs and service utilization throughout
the year, less adjustments for unallowable costs. The cost report must be completed in
accordance with generally accepted accounting principles (GAAP) and the Medicare
Principals of Reimbursement and prepared on the accrual basis of accounting wherein
both revenues and expenditures are recognized in the period when earned or incurred
regardless of when actual cash payments are made. The cost report submission shall be
certified by an authorized corporate officer or licensed professional. Cost reports shall be
subject to desk and field audits.

TN No.:_21-0007 Approval Date:_July 10, 2023 Effective Date:_April 1, 2021
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i. The desk audit is a review performed by a DCYF staff member in which staff
member evaluates the accuracy of the information in the cost reports and
supporting documentation in accordance with an audit program.

ii. If DCYF or the Executive Office of Health and Human Services (EOHHS)
suspects misappropriation of funds, fraud, or failure to adhere to the Medicare
Principals of Reimbursement, DCYF or EOHHS can conduct an onsite field audit
to ensure the accuracy of the claims for reimbursement and consistency in
reporting. DCYF and EOHHS can conduct an on-site audit at any time if it needs
to investigate concerns related to resident care.

iii. Provider costs will not be considered in the calculation of the rate if the provider
does not produce adequate documentation requested during a desk or field audit.

3. _Allowable Cost Guidance

The federal Office of Management and Budget (OMB) “Uniform Administrative Requirements, Cost
Principles, and Audit Requirements for Federal Awards, Final Rule (Uniform Guidance) from December
26, 2013; 2 CFR Part 200 (Omni Circular) provides guidance with regard to certain items of costs,
including information as to whether certain types of indirect costs are allowable or unallowable.

Additional details are available through the following link:
https://www.federalregister.gov/documents/2013/12/26/2013-30465/uniform-administrative-
requirements-cost-principles-and-audit-requirements-for-federal-awards

Common unallowable costs categories described in the Omni Circular include, but are not limited to,
fundraising costs; investment management costs; donation/contributions made by the vendor; fines and/or
penalties; costs of goods and/or services purchased for the personal use of provider employees or officers;
amortization or expensing of current or prior capital losses other than depreciation; cost of goods and
services that would be procured by self-dealing or related party transactions unless it is affirmatively
shown that the costs of such is no greater than what the same would have cost when procured
independently; lobbying and advocacy costs; and noncapital debt interest cost (capital debt interest and
principal cost for an asset may be included if the provider does not include a use or depreciation
allowance for such asset in its fee basis). General selling, marketing, promotion, and public relation costs
are typically unallowable except to the extent that they are expected to be incurred solely because they are
required for the provider to perform the scope of work proposed.

General and Administrative (G&A) costs are known as indirect costs. Indirect costs are those associated
with operating and providing a service, but which are not easily or directly associated only with the
particular service. Certain indirect costs may not be allowable for allocation to the PRTF rate. The PRTF
provider shall list any indirect costs related to the PRTF service, and the provider shall describe the
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methodology used to allocate those costs to the service being proposed. Indirect cost allocation
methodologies shall follow general accounting principles and shall be in accordance with the OMB Omni

Circular described above.

4. Establishment of Initial Rates for First Year of Operation

For the first year of fiscal operation, rates will be established after a desk audit of the applicable cost
report submitted by the provider

Following the desk audit and optional field audit, the per diem rate will be determined by dividing the
allowable annualized costs in the detailed budget request by the number of approved beds at the provider
site and then dividing that value by the number of days in the fiscal year. For the purpose of determining
the first year of fiscal operations per diem rates, a provider will not use a utilization rate for available beds
of less than eighty-five percent (85%) unless a complete and proper justification, such as that evidenced
by sustained historical data, is approved by DCYF. A utilization rate below seventy-five percent (75%)
will not be used at any time for the purpose of calculating a per diem rate, except during the first six (6)
months of a PRTF’s operation.

5. Annual Rate Redetermination

Annually on January 15, the provider shall submit an updated cost report to DCYF that contains the
anticipated reasonable, allowable costs for operating the relevant PRTF site in the following state fiscal
year (beginning on July 1). DCYF will review the reasonable, allowable costs contained in the cost report
and redetermine a new rate for PRTF services to be delivered by each certified site in the coming state
fiscal year. In a manner similar to the determination of the initial payment rate, the per diem rate shall be
redetermined by dividing the allowable annualized costs in the cost report by the number of approved
beds at the site and then dividing that value by the number of days in the fiscal year. For the purpose of
these calculations, a utilization rate for available beds of less than eighty-five percent (85%) will only be
used if a complete and proper justification, such as sustained historical data that shows utilization below
eighty-five percent (85%), has been provided to and approved by DCYF. A utilization rate below
seventy-five percent (75%) will not be used for the purpose of re-calculating a per diem rate.

The desk audit of the January cost report can be subject to an on-site audit. Anticipated costs will be
disallowed for rate determination purposes if the provider does not meet allowability or reasonableness
guidelines provided below. Within forty-five (45) days of acceptance of a cost report as complete by
DCYF, DCYF shall issue an updated rate for PRTF services that shall become effective at the
commencement of the subsequent state fiscal year beginning July 1.

6. Annual Cost Report and Reconciliation

Sixty (60) days after the end of the initial PRTF performance period (which is the State Fiscal Year July
1 - June 30) and each subsequent year thereafter, providers will submit a cost report that reflects
Medicaid-attributable costs and service utilization throughout the year, less adjustments for unallowable
costs previously detailed.
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DCYF shall review the actual costs incurred by the provider during the previous year. The total amount
owed by the State will be compared to the total sum of interim payments made in aggregate to the facility
in the corresponding fiscal year. If the revenue owed by the State to the facility is less than the sum of the
interim payments, the provider shall return to the State (via a reconciliation payment) the amount that is
equal to that difference. This return payment to the State must be made within 90 days of notification
from DCYF, unless contested by the provider as described below.

7. Reasonable Costs and Adequacy of Rates

Providers will be paid rates that are reasonable and adequate to meet costs that must be incurred by
efficiently and economically operating the PRTF in order to provide services in conformance with state
and federal laws, regulations, and quality and safety standards. Reasonable costs shall mean those costs
of an individual provider for items, goods, and services which, when compared, will not exceed the costs
of like items, goods, and services of comparable facilities in license and size. Reasonable costs include
the ordinary, necessary, and proper costs of providing acceptable health care subject to the regulations
and limits contained herein.

In addition, providers are expected to establish operating practices that assure that costs do not exceed
what a prudent and cost-conscious buyer pays for a given item or service. If a cost appears higher, DCYF
can survey businesses offering similar products or cross reference with available cost information from
nearby states for residential treatment-specific costs. If the reported costs exceed those levels and in the
absence of proof that the situation was unavoidable, the excessive costs will not be included in a rate
calculation.

8. Record Retention and Penalties

Providers must maintain accurate, detailed, and original financial records to substantiate reported costs for
a period of at least five years following the submission of required reports or until the final resolution of
any appeal involving a rate for the period covered by the annual cost report, whichever occurs later, and
in accordance with state and federal record retention regulations. Providers must maintain complete
documentation of all of the financial transactions and census activity of the provider and affiliated entities
including, but not limited to, the books, invoices, bank statements, canceled checks, payroll records,
governmental filings, and any other records necessary to document the provider’s claim for
reimbursement. Providers must be able to document expenses relating to affiliated entities for which
reimbursement is claimed whether or not they are related parties.

Providers will be subject to a penalty in the amount of up to fifteen percent (15%) of its payments if that
provider fails to submit required information. DCYF will notify the provider in advance of its intention
to impose a penalty.

TN No.:_21-0007 Approval Date: July 10, 2023 Effective Date:_April 1, 2021
Supersedes
TN No.:_New



Supplement 4 to Attachment 4.19-A
Page 5
STATE PLAN UNDER TITLE XIX OF THE SOCIAL SECURITY ACT
STATE: RHODE ISLAND
If the program is no longer in operation, the facility shall retain the records and have available at DCYF’s

request, in accordance with timeframes established through state and federal regulation.

9. Prospective Rate Adjustments

DCYF will consider the granting of a prospective rate change during a performance year that reflects
demonstrated cost increases in excess of the rate established previously. In order to qualify for the rate
increase, the provider must demonstrate increased cost attributable to one of the following:

a. Demonstrated errors made during the rate determination process.

b. Significant increases in operating costs resulting from the implementation of new or additional
programs, services or staff if approved prior to implementation by DCYF. A significant increase
is defined as an increase of ten percent (10%) or more in operating costs, expected to be incurred
for three (3) months or more during the performance year.

c. Significant increases in operating costs resulting from capital renovations, expansion, or
replacement required for compliance with fire safety codes and/or certification requirements as
requested or required by DCYF. Increased energy costs that the provider can demonstrate are a
result of the provider having expended funds for heating, lighting, hot water, and similar costs
associated with the consumption of energy provided by public utilities.

d. Significant increases in workers’ compensation and/or health insurance premiums which cannot
be accommodated within the provider per diem rate, if the cost is justified.

e. Significant, unanticipated increases in prevailing market wages for necessary staff positions.

f.  Other extraordinary circumstances, including but not limited to, acts of God, that might
substantially and materially increase costs of providing services.

Before a provider shall be permitted to file for a rate increase, increases in operating costs set forth in
accordance with the above provisions must have been incurred for a period of not less than three (3)
months in order to establish proof of the increase. Rate adjustments granted as a result of a request filed
within one hundred twenty (120) days after the costs were first incurred shall be made effective
retroactively to the date the costs were actually incurred provided, further, any adjustments granted as a
result of requests filed more than one hundred twenty (120) days after the costs were first incurred will be
effective on the first day of the month following the filling of the request.

10. Appeal of Rates Following Annual Redetermination or Prospective Rate Adjustment Request

A provider that is not in agreement with the final rate determination may, within fifteen (15) days from
the date of notification of a rate adjustment request decision, file a written request for a review
conference. The review conference will be conducted by the DCYF Chief Financial Officer (CFO) or
designee and will be approved by the Medicaid Director or designee. The written request must identify
the remaining contested audit adjustment(s) or rate assignment issue(s). The DCYF CFO or designee
shall schedule a review conference within fifteen (15) days of said request and subsequently issue a final
decision. This decision made by the DCYF CFO and approved by the Medicaid Director or other
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designee is a decision appealable under the EOHHS appeals process in accordance with the State
Administrative Procedures Act.

11. Prior Authorizations and Description of Service Provided

The Provider must agree to accept referrals made by DCYF and, specifically, DCYF’s Division of
Community Services and Behavioral Health (CSBH). The Provider agrees that referrals from other
sources must be directed to the DCYF’s Division of Community Services and Behavioral Health (CSBH)
in order to be accepted. All non-emergency admissions must be certified through DCYF. The Provider
will review the referral materials provided by CSBH as available for the purpose of meeting the needs of
the youth referred. The Provider agrees that there will be instances when immediate attention is needed,
and the services for the youth and/or family shall be provided as an immediate response. DCYF will
work with the Provider in the referral process to establish a protocol outlining the circumstances when a
family or youth is to be seen right away. The Provider agrees to accept admissions of a youth when
DCYF determines that it is an emergency situation. The Provider maintains continuous “24/7” and
365/6-day per year admission availability.

The provider shall maintain a policy for admitting any youth for whom the service is deemed medically
necessary through certification by an appropriately qualified psychiatric team, subject to bed availability
and as is consistent with the population that a facility is licensed to serve. No youth shall be refused
services or discharged from service due to their previous history or reluctance to engage in the program.
The provider shall submit this policy for review and approval to DCYF.

All referrals are subject to a review process if the provider asserts it is unable to meet the needs of the
referred youth. In such instances the provider will explain in writing and in detail why they believe their
services cannot meet the needs of the youth in those instances. If after reviewing this information and
discussion with the provider, DCYF concludes that the referral meets the needs of the youth, then the
provider shall accept the decision of DCYF as final and shall accept the referral and admit the referred
youth. The provider agrees to provide detailed written dispositions for referrals within the time
requirements specified by the CSBH division.

Before authorization for payment, the attending physician or staff physician shall establish a written plan
of care for each applicant or recipient. The plan of care shall be:

a. Based on a diagnostic evaluation that includes examination of the medical, psychological, social,
behavioral, and developmental aspects of the recipient's situation and reflects the need for
inpatient psychiatric care.

b. Developed by a team of professionals and in consultation with the recipient and his/her parents,
legal guardians, or others in whose care he or she will be released after discharge:

c. Based on education and experience, preferably including competence in youth psychiatry, the
team is capable of:

i.  Assessing the recipient's immediate and long-term therapeutic needs, developmental
priorities, and personal strengths and liabilities;
il.  Assessing the potential resources of the recipient's family;
ili.  Setting treatment objectives; and
iv.  Prescribing therapeutic modalities to achieve the plan's objectives, as needed
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The plan shall be reviewed every thirty (30) days by the care team specified in the Psychiatric Residential
Treatment Facilities (PRTF) Rhode Island Certification Standards to:

a. Determine that services being provided are or were required on an inpatient basis; and

b. Recommend changes in the plan as indicated by the recipient's overall adjustment as an inpatient.

The plan of care must be designed to achieve the recipient’s discharge from inpatient status at the earliest
possible time.

A PRTEF’s clinical programming and treatment shall be reflective of the Building Bridges Initiative (BBI)
Core Principles, which include family-driven and youth-guided care, cultural and linguistic competence,
clinical excellence and quality standards, accessibility, community involvement and transition planning
(between settings and from youth to adulthood): Attps.//www.buildingbridges4vouth.org/

All PRTF programs shall comply with the State of Rhode Island Residential Child Care Regulations for
Licensure. In addition, all PRTF’s are subject to the Provider certification requirements.
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