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SFY 2009 State Budget - Medical Assistance Eligibility Changes 

Article 10 of the Rhode Island State Budget for State Fiscal Year 2009 made several 
changes in the law affecting Medical Assistance eligibility. The following changes will 
take place on October 1, 2008. Clients impacted by these changes have received both an 
informational letter and an adverse action notice explaining how these changes impact their 
families. 

• Adults between 175-185% FPL will no longer be eligible for Medical Assistance 
coverage. The closure notice will contain language about the RI community health 
centers. 

• Families between 150-250% FPL will experience an increase in monthly premium. 
• Families between 133-150% FPL will be subject to a premium for the first time. 

The premiums will be as follows:  

Family Income Level: If they were paying: They will be paying: 
133-150% FPL $0 $45.00 
150-175% FPL $61.00 $86.00 
175-200% FPL $77.00 $106.00 
200-250% FPL $92.00 $114.00 

• Clients eligible for Extended Family Planning benefits will now be required to re-
certify for eligibility on an annual basis. These members will receive re-
certification packets at 12 months of enrollment, as do all other RIte Care/RIte 
Share members.  

• Enrollment in managed care health delivery systems will become mandatory for 
children in substitute care, children receiving Medical Assistance through an 
adoption subsidy, and children eligible for Medical Assistance based on their 
disability (SSI and Katie Beckett children) provided they have no other third-party 
medical insurance. 

  

 
  

SFY 2009 State Budget - Requirement Pertaining to Medicaid Providers Who Employ Medical 
Assistance Recipients 

Article 17 of the Rhode Island State Budget for State Fiscal Year 2009 contains a section 
that impacts Medical Assistance providers. Any Medical Assistance provider who receives 
a request from the Department of Human Services to provide information about their 
employer-sponsored health insurance must provide the requested documentation to DHS in 
a timely manner (within 14 days from the time of the request). This information will be 
used to determine if Medical Assistance-eligible employees can be enrolled in RIte Share, 

http://www.rilin.state.ri.us/PublicLaws/law08/law08100-10.htm
http://www.dhs.ri.gov/dhs/whatnew/Budget_Article_20080317.pdf


Rhode Island’s Premium Assistance Program.  
 
EDS will send out more detailed communications regarding these changes, including a 
request that all Medicaid providers sign an updated Provider Agreement that acknowledges 
this requirement. Providers will be expected to establish a process that will ensure 
compliance with this law which took effect upon passage (7/1/08). Below is the language 
regarding this requirement.  
 
40-8-27. Cooperation by providers. – Medicaid providers who employ individuals 
applying for benefits under any chapter of title 40 shall comply in a timely manner with 
requests made by the department for any documents describing employer sponsored health 
insurance coverage or benefits the provider offers that are necessary to determine 
eligibility for the state’s premium assistance program pursuant to section 40-8.4-12. Such 
documents requested by the department may include, but are not limited to, certificates of 
coverage or a summary of benefits and employee obligations. Upon receiving notification 
that the department has determined that the employee is eligible for premium assistance 
under section 40-8.4-12, the provider shall accept the enrollment of the employee and his 
or her family in the employer based health insurance plan without regard to any seasonal 
enrollment restrictions, including open enrollment restrictions, and/or the impact on the 
employee’s wages. Additionally, the Medicaid provider employing such persons shall not 
offer “pay in lieu of benefits.” Providers who do not comply with the provisions set forth 
in this section shall be subject to suspension as a participating Medicaid provider. 
 
 
 
  

Billing Fluorscopic Guidance In Conjunctions with Facet Joint Injections 

Since fluoroscopic guidance is required to perform paravertebral facet joint and 
paravertebral facet joint nerve with destruction by neurolytic agent or sacroiliac joint 
injections, code 77003 should be additionally reported in conjunction with codes 64470-
64476, 64479-64484 and 64622-64627; and in certain circumstance, with code 27096. 
 
Subsequent CPT Assistant articles in the January and February 2000 issues repeated the 
critical language “code 77003 should be additionally reported” when fluoroscopic 
guidance and localization is performed in conjunction with the epidural, 
subarachnoid, transforaminal, facet joint and paravertebral facet joint injections.  
 
The Director of CPT Information and Education Services confirmed that “…from a CPT 
coding perspective code 77003 should be separately reported in addition to codes 
62270-62273, 62280-62282, 62310-62319, and 64470-64484.” 
 
Failure to report the fluoroscopic guidance code may result in the recoupment of claims 
for facet injections.  

Billing for Hearing Aid Repairs 

There are three scenarios for billing hearing aid repairs on paper. Hearing aid repairs are 
billed with one of two set standard rates or with an option for a repair cost plus a set mark 
up. Use procedure code V5014 in box 24D for all repairs. 



 
To bill for a repair plus mark up when a repair will cost more than one of the set amounts, 
but still be less than a replacement hearing aid, note X7010 in box 19 and send an invoice 
with the claim. 
 
To bill the set standard rates of $50 or $85: 

• For extensive repairs, bill $85 and note X7000 in box 19. 
• For office repairs, bill $50. No invoice or note in box 19 is needed 

In no instance will a hearing aid repair be paid that occurred within the one year guarantee 
period other than the reduced cost replacement. 

 


